Why Being Creative Is A Lot Less Difficult Than You Think(Response)

So earlier I’ve posted a link from LitReactor.com the link you see here on the bottom:

http://litreactor.com/columns/why-being-creative-is-a-lot-less-difficult-than-you-think

It was an interesting read. The article touched on a lot of myths on why creativity isn’t so difficult. Do I agree with this article even though it’s 5 months old. Yes I do and no I don’t. Let’s start with what I agree with.

The first body topic “Creativity needs space to flourish” discusses about freeing our minds in order to be creative. We also “lose” our creativity as we grow older and we need to do certain activities such as yoga and meditation, and rolling around in order to retrieve the creative flow. The paragraph also discusses restraint towards the end and gives the example of “For example, ask yourself how many story competitions allow entrants to write about anything, without a word limit?”

Your creativity needs certain freedom before it can grow. That’s why when you plan your story always do it little by little. I know there are days when writer’s block can complicate your progress. Do something completely separate from your writing to unblock your writer’s block.

The next paragraph is titled, “Creativity can’t be forced”. This paragraph describes how authors have their own way of creating their stories. How too much planning can ruin a story. Writing a story as you go doesn’t help. And finally, setting a deadline can help your creativity. I agree entirely that creativity can’t be forced. You just can’t force yourself to be creative.

It just doesn’t happen that way. Your story or novel isn’t going to develop overnight. The old saying keeps coming back around, “Rome wasn’t built in a day”. It takes time to get your story readable. There’s no one way of building your story. Everyone’s style of story building is different. I plan and outline my stories. Whenever I get stuck or put a story away for a while I usually research a topic or two based on a story I’m writing.

Without giving too much detail on one novel I’m working on, the theme is about virtual reality gaming. I have researched various topics on virtual reality and virtual augmentation. MMO or Massively Multiplayer Online is also a theme for my novel. I usually research that via YouTube videos or forums.  Find you own way to develop your creativity. If you force it your story is going to crumble fast.

The third paragraph is called, “Creativity requires solitude”. The paragraph opens with a quote from Franz Kafka. It goes into detail that making art requires consuming more art. How you need to read more, visit places and galleries and listen to music. I find this to be true. As a writer I always visit my local library and bookstore. I always skim through or read books. I look at the book’s cover art and synopsis to understand what the story is about before turning the pages.

I read the first few pages of a book and put it back on the shelf. This doesn’t apply to books I’ve previously read by borrowing it from the library. I always gamble whenever I buy books. The book that everyone is talking about or talked about may not be a good story to me. I also observe the people around me and what they’re talking about or looking to borrow (library) or buy (bookstore).

The fourth paragraph is “Creativity is the same as being crazy”. This paragraph talks about how odd and disturbing behavior can create extraordinary work. It details Einstein and Michael Jackson’s odd behaviors lead them to become famous. I wouldn’t say that being eccentric is vital for creativity. Everyone has their own creative fashion. What might be considered insane to others might be sane to a few people.

The last paragraph is called “Creativity is enhanced by drugs and/or alcohol”. The paragraph details how certain drugs like marijuana, opium and LSD and alcohol can expand your mind and make you “see” things you could never “experienced”. How some writers and artists created masterpieces. It mentions how some of these substances were popular in certain time periods, for example, alcohol during the Prohibition days of the 1920s, LSD in the 1950s, and marijuana during the 1970s.

I’m not an expert on the substances I’ve listed and referenced from the article. So I wouldn’t prove that this would be true. Time, experience, and environment are varied when people use these substances. Some people can become creative using these substances. However I won’t advise you to do it. Substance abuse is not a risk you would want to take in an effort to create a best seller. What will happen if your story or art is completed and it may not gain a critic, agent or publishers’ approval?

You may just end up continuing drinking or get your opium fix to cope. That’s not the way creativity works. I would suggest eating right, stay influenced on positivity, and maintain good relationships with others is the best way to maintain creativity. You have to make experiences, but nothing  life-threatening. You can’t create a best-seller if you’re dead.

Life and creativity is what you make it. There’s no sure-fire way to have instant creativity. Creativity and plants are similar to one another. You have to make it grow. Give yourself more sunlight and absorb oxygen. Don’t wait for creativity. Creativity comes from you.

2 thoughts on “Why Being Creative Is A Lot Less Difficult Than You Think(Response)

Leave a Reply

