What Are Your Strengths and Weaknesses With Writing?

Writing isn’t easy. People seem to think that writing is something that’s inborn. I’d hate to tell you this, but writing takes time to develop. Sure some people look like naturals when it comes to writing. However, even the writer who is gifted or talented has strengths and weaknesses. No writer is born perfect. It’s a skill that takes time to develop and perfect. I have strengths and weaknesses myself. Writers always learn from their mistakes and other writers, including myself.

For starters, I’ll begin with my strengths. One of my strengths with writing is coming up with a story on the fly. Whenever I write I always have a story in mind. To me it doesn’t matter if the story isn’t well-developed I manage to put words down on paper. My belief is it doesn’t matter if you don’t have a story developed, words on the paper will get you started.

I proofread my work as I’m writing. When I finish a sentence I stop and reread it. If it sounds correct I move on to the next sentence. If the sentence doesn’t sound correct I work on it. The same rule applies to paragraphs. I always make sure I edit a paragraph before I move on to the next. I’ve done this with essays a lot. I would make sure a paragraph conveys important points to the topic of the subject.

Whenever I write I plan what I’m going to write before jotting words down. This method is very effective when writing essays. Normally it’s called brainstorming, but I usually make an outline.  I gather research and write down the important facts and use my own explanations. It’s often difficult when I transition from a source to my own words. I reread the sentences and repeat the process throughout the rest of the essay.

With writing I’m very detailed and I get straight to the point. I don’t like writing filler or fluff. I want to get my readers and audience absorbed quickly. I wouldn’t want my readers to get bored. I lose confidence when that happens. However I don’t let it keep me down forever. I learn from what i need to improve with my writing. The criticism keeps my writing going whether it’s good or bad.

As someone who loves to write I have plenty of weaknesses. To start, I occasionally make grammatical errors. I know it’s common with a lot of writers. I, on the other hand, write, type and think too fast to the point where I don’t catch my mistakes. I get too absorbed in my writing and I manage to a lot of mistakes. Along with grammatical errors, run on sentences are my greatest weakness.

As I aforementioned, the writing and thinking too fast causes these mistakes. My love for writing gets the best of out me. When you’re in the flow of writing you focus more on what you say than stopping for air. Writing is different from speaking. While you’re not using your mouth to convey speech, your hands do all the speaking. Run-on sentences and I aren’t good friends.

My next two weaknesses are another common weakness for writers. Those weaknesses are not finding the right words to write and easily distracted. There are times when I would stare blankly on a sheet of paper for minutes on end. Even after planning a story I can never seem to write an engrossing opening paragraph. It takes a while because I believe that most of the good opening paragraphs are already taken.I often write similar phrases throughout stories and essays.

Distractions are never fun when it comes to writing. Nothing hinders your writing more than not concentrating. I’ve mentioned before that life can distract you. However certain situations such as school and work are not the case. The distractions I’m referring here are noise from other people, television, and the internet and outside environment. My writing space is a huge distraction. I’ve recently changed it because I’ve had problems concentrating. My chair, a steel chair to be clear, is a fairly old one.

It’s been around for seven, maybe eight years? The chair has a soft padding, but it’s still uncomfortable. I’ve put a pillow on it, but that still didn’t help. It takes up half of my writing space and I can never feel content. I sit on my bed now for my work and writing space and rearranged the table I use for my writing space.  That’s one weakness I’ve conquered but the other four weaknesses I need improvement on.

Writing takes time and dedication. Is it easy? No, it’s not. Is it difficult? Writing is only as difficult as you want it to be. I don’t have all the answers when it comes to writing. Writing is a skill that you learn and it’s a journey. Like all things in life there will be hardships. You can’t give up when things get tough. The same belief applies with writing. Not everyone has a gift or an inborn talent for writing. That’s okay, writing is not for everyone.

It’s up to you whether you want to improve your craft and skill that you love to do. That’s what writing is for some people, self-improvement and self discovery.

 

Leave a Reply

